Edward James Olmos confirms BLADE RUNNER 2049 cameo

Blade Runner 2049 is the latest in a string of sequels/reboots looking to both capitalize on nostalgic film properties while also trying to take the material in a new direction, reflected in the casting of Harrison Ford reprising his role from the original alongside Ryan Gosling as the new protagonist. The rest of the cast consists entirely of newcomers to the franchise such as Robin Wright, Dave Bautista, Sylvia Hoeks, Carla Juri, David Dastmalchian, Barkhad Abdi, Lennie James, and Jared Leto.

Earlier today, Edward James Olmos revealed that he had actually filmed a scene in the sequel! Olmos appeared in the first film as Gaff, an LAPD vice cop with an affinity for Oragami and a fan favorite of the first film.

EDWARD JAMES OLMOS
Edward James Olmos as Robert Gonzales in Agents of S.H.I.E.L.D.

In an interview with TheTRENDTalk, Olmos revealed why he’s remained mum about his involvement thus far:

“I signed a seven page non-disclosure contract. I did, my manager did, my agent did, everybody did. I couldn’t talk about it. I couldn’t talk about it to anybody about it. Guess what? This is the first time that I’m telling the whole world, that yes, I am going to be Gaff in Blade Runner 2049.”

He also opened up about his role in the sequel, saying:

“Well it’s not about Gaff, but it’s about someone who is going to try to find out certain things about us back then. My role is like it was in the original – that time I only had four scenes, in this I only have one. But again, it’s a poignant little scene.”

That reflects the official log line, which shows LAPD Officer K (Ryan Gosling) going in search of former Blade Runner Rick Deckard (Harrison Ford) to avert some major catastrophic event. While this may be another soft reboot approach, I’m very excited about this project due to Gosling’s involvement as well as director Denis Villeneuve. I think the studio has a very smart vision for this film and I can’t wait to see it brought to life onscreen.

Blade Runner 2049 opens in theaters on October 7, 2017

Leave a Reply

